Lagos State House of Assembly Rejects 17 of 39 Commissioners-Nominees

In a significant development, the Lagos State House of Assembly has delivered its verdict on Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu’s selection of commissioners-nominees. The Assembly rejected 17 out of the 39 nominees, a decision that holds notable implications for the administration’s composition.

The rejection, which was a culmination of rigorous scrutiny conducted by an ad-hoc committee chaired by Chief Whip Hon. Fatai Mojeed, revealed that not all of the governor’s proposed commissioners would secure approval. The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, presided over the session and hailed the committee’s meticulous evaluation of the nominees.

Speaker Obasa reminded the confirmed commissioners that their duty primarily serves the people of the state and not individuals. The House reiterated its commitment to the welfare of Lagos State and its residents.

The approval process took the form of a voice vote, as the Speaker announced each nominee’s name. Ultimately, 22 nominees secured the Assembly’s endorsement, while 17 were declined.

Confirmed Commissioners:

  • Hon. Layode Ibrahim
  • Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende
  • Dr. Dolapo Fasawe
  • Hon. Bola Olumegbon
  • Mr. Idris Aregbe
  • Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya
  • Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai
  • Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts
  • Engr. Abiola Olowu
  • Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka
  • Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih- Awokoya
  • Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu
  • Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN
  • Mr. Tunbosun Alake
  • Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde
  • Dr. Adekunle Olayinka
  • Dr. Jide Babatunde
  • Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo
  • Mr. Tokunbo Wahab
  • Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu
  • Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun
  • Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo

Rejected Nominees:

  • Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo
  • Prof. Akin Abayomi
  • Mr. Yomi Oluyomi
  • Mrs. Folashade Ambrose
  • Ms. Barakat Bakare
  • Mr. Gbenga Omotosho
  • Engr. Olalere Odusote
  • Dr. Rotimi Fashola
  • Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada
  • Mr. Sam Egube
  • Mr. Olalekan Fatodu
  • Mrs. Solape Hammond
  • Mr. Mosopefolu George
  • Engr. Aramide Adeyoye
  • Mr. Seun Osiyemi
  • Mr. Rotimi Ogunwuyi
  • Dr. Olumide Oluyinka

Before the final decision, Hon. Fatai Mojeed provided the Assembly with a comprehensive overview of the screening process and its outcomes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *