Senate Confirms President Tinubu’s Appointed Service Chiefs

The Nigerian Senate has officially confirmed the appointments of the recently announced service chiefs by President Bola Tinubu. The upper legislative chamber completed the confirmation process after conducting a closed-door screening session that lasted for over an hour.

The confirmed nominees for the positions of service chiefs are Christopher Musa as Chief of Defence Staff, Taoreed Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff, Emmanuel Ogalla as Chief of Naval Staff, and Hassan Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff.

President Tinubu had sent a letter to the National Assembly last week, requesting the confirmation of the service chiefs based on Section 18(1) of the Armed Forces Act, CAP A20 laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004.

Before undergoing the screening, the service chiefs had the opportunity to speak about their careers and acknowledge the security challenges that the country has been facing. They expressed their commitment to working together to ensure the security and safety of the nation.

Lagbaja, the newly appointed Chief of Army Staff, emphasized his dedication to collaborating with the other service chiefs in safeguarding the country.

“I have identified some pillars on which my leadership will rest and that include sound leadership. I have identified and will work with my fellow service chiefs and other security agencies,” he said.

On his part, Ogalla, chief of naval staff, said: “I have served in various capacities. I wish to state that if given the opportunity to serve, as the chief of naval staff, I will give my best. I fully understand the challenges facing the navy.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *